Honolulu, Hawaii


A publication for and behalf of the members of this Society


March 1999                                                                       Vol. II, No.1






Attached are an “Oo Syak Gee Lu Society Scholarship Application” form and instructions. Please pass on copies to Oo Syak Gee Lu Society members who are or will be full time students this fall.


In this inaugural year, our society will award three scholarships, first in the amount of $1,000.00, second for $750.00, and third for $500.00. Knowing that these amounts are minimal compared to other scholarships and that it is for members, the Public Relations, Welfare & Membership Committee (PRW&M)has tried to make the application process as simple as possible.


Three independent judges have been selected to pick the three winners. These winners will be announced and introduced at our August 14, 1999 Annual Banquet.


A student who is not yet a member can still apply for membership before the June 16, 1999 Scholarship application  deadline. To apply for Oo Syak Gee Lu Society membership, call Ed Chang at 623-5910 (H) or 543-4227 (W).  A membership application form can be mailed to you. A non-refundable application fee of $5.00 must accompany the completed application.


The PRW&M Committee is lead by Wah Chock Chang, with members Edith P. S. Won, Donna N. Chang, Connie Mark, and Ed Chang.




All members of the Oo Syak Gee Lu Society are invited to the Society’s Annual Banquet. The details are:


Date:   Saturday, August 14, 1999


Time:   5:30 p.m. start gathering

            6:30 p.m. program begins        


Place:   Yong Sing Restaurant


Cost:    $ 180.00 for a table of 10

             or $18.00 per person.

             Oo Syak Gee Lu members who  

            Are 70 years or older attend at

             no charge.


Please call Maile Chang (946-6781)  before July 31, 1999 if you plan to attend.


The banquet menu will include:

·        White fungus soup w/chicken,

·        Stuffed duck w/barley,

·        Ginger chicken,

·        Shrimp w/vegetables,

·        Sweet & sour sea bass,

·        Kau yuk w/taro,

·        Tofu w/vegetables.




The PRW&M Committee is asking for your help in honoring deserving Oo Syak Gee Lu Society members as nominees for the United Chinese Society:


1999 Model Chinese Mother of the Year,

1999 Model Chinese Father of the Year,


Sixth Annual Chinese Citizen of the Year.


Although nomination petitions will not be due until August and October, we would like to prepare well in advance for the petition submittal. You must know a deserving relative or friend that we can nominate.


Please contact Wah Chock Chang at 839-4649 for more information or to submit a nomination.




President:   Ed Chang

1st VP:          Maile Chang

2nd VP:          Edith Won

Treasurer:          Daryl Hu

Eng. Secr.:          Donna Chang

Chin. Secr.:          Wah Chock Chang


Alvin Chang              Kenneth Chang

Norbert Chang          Wah Jip Chang    

Harold Hu                 Connie Mark 

Gertrude Yee              Lum Chow Young

Raymond Young


The Society is seeking members who would like to serve as an officer or director. Interested members can attend our quarterly Board of Directors meetings.




Please contact any of the officers or directors for a copy of the revised Oo Syak Gee Lu Society Bylaws.




We are sorry to report that the following members have passed on:


Sing Chang, 1911-1999, Past President 1977-78, and long time Oo Syak Gee Lu supporter.


Edith Y. N. Chang Chun, past away October 1998.


Muria Chang Kong, 1908-1998, Past Officer, Director, active in the society since the 50’s.


Edward K. S. Young


Please keep us informed of any passing members.




We will be designing and procuring Oo Syak Gee Lu Society tee shirts to use in future parades planned through Chinatown. Anyone interested in participating and getting a tee shirt, please contact any officer or director.